Tags

, , ,

This week I found an anonymously written article on Smart Teaching.org titled 50 Ways to Use Wikis For a More Collaborative and Interactive Classroom. I feel I have to start by saying that this subject is of great interest to me. With all of the citing that can be followed to its source and warnings attached to articles that have not been researched properly I always found it strange that Wikipedia wasn’t really taken seriously. I often hear people go on a rampage when talking about the site, listing in minute detail how imbecilic one would have to be in using it. I like Wikipedia. I don’t take any issue with it at all, and am grateful to those who spend long hours working on the site. When I came across the article mentioned above I was immediately intrigued.

The article offers 50 ideas under seven categories: Resource Creation, Student Participation, Group Projects, Student Interaction, For the Classroom, and Other. Each idea could easily be used as a semester-long project, offering direct hands-on participative experience with the Wikipedia platform. Each of the ideas is also a link to a separate page or site that explains the idea in detail, such as Write a Wikibook, Grandma Timeline, International Sharing, or Teacher Collaboration. All of the ideas – every one of them- offer something in the way of combining collaborative education with the world and the internet at once. I found while looking through them that I was thinking up classroom ideas myself, to offer my daughters in their charter school; or maybe teaching a class myself.

Smart Teaching.org is a wonderful site, and this article is an excellent example of it.

